Mackenzie County is here to support flood affected residents in restoring and rebuilding homes, businesses and communities. Properties identified to be habitable within 180 days will be issued three-month temporary housing Development Permits and safety codes permits. 

Mackenzie County Council has approved an update to the development permit restrictions for Fort Vermilion residences within the hamlet’s floodplain zone. Temporary development permits can now be obtained for the following repair work:

  • Insulation and vapour barrier on exterior walls,
  • Insulation, sealing and sheeting dividing walls between multi-unit dwellings to meet Minimum Requirements,
  • HVAC, plumbing, heating and electrical work to restore functionality to pre-flood functionality
  • Temporary, unfinished walls to define bedrooms and bathrooms

Affected residents can call (780) 927-3718 to obtain their permits or for assistance, including:

  • Development permit applications
  • Building permit applications
  • Gas permit applications
  • Plumbing permit applications
  • Electrical permit applications

Development Permit fees may be an eligible expense under the Government of Alberta's Disaster Recovery Program.  Any home mitigation measures initiated by property owners without prior approval through the Disaster Recovery Program will likely jeopardize future eligibility.

A moratorium remains in place restricting development on all vacant properties within all areas impacted by the flood in Mackenzie County. No Development Permits will be issued on these properties until further notice.  Additional development restrictions may be imposed as the mitigation strategy is developed.

A copy of the full Floodplain Development Restriction Policy is available here