The council is the governing body of the municipal corporation and the custodian of its powers, both legislative and administrative.

The Municipal Government Act (MGA) provides that councils can only exercise the powers of the municipal corporation in the proper form, either by bylaw or resolution.

Under the MGA, councillors have the duty to:

  • consider the welfare and interests of the municipality as a whole and, to bring to the council’s attention anything that would promote the welfare or interests of the municipality
  • participate generally in developing and evaluating the policies and programs of the municipality
  • participate in council meetings and council committee meetings and meetings of other bodies they are appointed to by the council
  • obtain information about the operation or administration of the municipality from the chief administrative officer
  • keep in confidence matters discussed in private at a council meeting until discussed at a meeting held in public
  • perform any other duty or function imposed on councillors by this or any other enactment or by the council.

Councillors (2021-2025 Term)

Reeve, Ward 1

Josh Knelsen
Email: josh@mackenziecounty.com

Deputy Reeve, Ward 8

Walter Sarapuk
Email: walter@mackenziecounty.com

Councillor, Ward 2

Darrell Derksen
Email: darrell@mackenziecounty.com

Councillor, Ward 3

Peter Braun
Email: peter@mackenziecounty.com

Councillor, Ward 4

David Driedger
Email: david@mackenziecounty.com

Councillor, Ward 5

Ernest Peters
Email: ernest@mackenziecounty.com

Councillor, Ward 6

Garrell Smith
Email: gary@mackenziecounty.com

Councillor, Ward 7

Cameron Cardinal
Email: cameron@mackenziecounty.com

Councillor, Ward 9

Jacquie Bateman
Email: jacquie@mackenziecounty.com

Councillor, Ward 10

Lisa Wardley
Email: lisa@mackenziecounty.com