Mackenzie County has members currently appointed to the following boards and committees:

  • Agricultural Appeal Board
  • Agricultural Service Board (ASB)
  • Assessment Review Board
  • Committee of the Whole
  • Community Services Committee
  • Community Streetscape Implementation Committee – Fort Vermilion
  • Community Streetscape Implementation Committee – La Crete
  • Emergency Advisory Committee
  • Flood Recovery Steering Committee
  • Indigenous Liaison Committee
  • Inter-Municipal Planning Commission
  • Inter-Municipal Subdivision and Development Appeal Board
  • Mackenzie Library Board Download PDF
  • Municipal Planning Commission
  • Northwest Alberta Regional Emergency Advisory Committee
  • Subdivision and Development Appeal Board

The following ad-hoc committees have also been established:

  • Development Ad Hoc Committee
  • Janelle’s Park Ad Hoc Committee

In addition to these committees, Mackenzie County has representation on the following external committees:

  • Boreal Housing Foundation
  • Community Futures Northwest
  • FCSS – Fort Vermilion
  • FCSS – La Crete
  • FCSS – Zama City
  • Hay Zama Committee
  • La Crete Community Adult Learning Council
  • Mackenzie Applied Research Association (MARA)
  • Mackenzie Frontier Tourist Association (MFTA)
  • Mackenzie Regional Community Policing Society (Victim Services)
  • Mackenzie Regional Waste Management Commission
  • Mighty Peace Watershed Alliance
  • Northern Lakes College CEC – Fort Vermilion
  • Northern Lakes College CEC – High Level
  • Northwest Species at Risk (NWSAR)
  • Recreation Board – Fort Vermilion
  • Recreation Board – La Crete
  • Recreation Board – Zama City
  • Regional Economic Development Initiative (REDI)
  • Rural Health Professions Action Plan (RhPAP)
  • The Northern Lights Forest Education Society
  • Upper Hay Regional Forests Public Advisory Committee (PAC)
  • Veterinary Services Incorporated (VSI)
  • Water North Coalition (WNC)

See a current list of Board and Committee Members (2022-2023).

Join a Board or Committee

All appointments will be made by Council. Members-at-large, appointed to council committees, are paid a per diem according to the current Honorarium and Expense bylaw unless otherwise specified.

To be eligible for appointment as a Public Member-at-Large applicants must be 18 years of age, Canadian citizens or landed immigrants, residents of Mackenzie County for six consecutive months immediately prior to application submission (with the exception of the Assessment Review Board and the Subdivision & Development Appeal Board) or not otherwise ineligible. Applicants must be able to attend daytime meetings.

All appointments to the various boards/committees will be made by Council at the Organizational meeting held in October.

See the currently available Board and Committee Positions.

Contact Us

For more information on boards and committees, please contact:

Legislative and Support Services
Phone: 780-927-3718